Haute Couture for Little Miss

I am a crafty person. I always say Art is my profession but Craft is my addiction. Aside from that, just like other moms, I have very discriminating taste when it comes to selecting outfits for Maya. I’ve spent so many long hours scouting malls and boutiques whenever Maya is required to wear something nice in school. And because I don’t have too many long hours to check out all available clothing out there to find something unique, I always end up making Maya’s clothes. It saves me a lot of time, energy and money. Here are a few of those pieces I’ve done for her (at least the memorable ones, coz most of what she wears now are made by her mommy-couturier).

During her preschool graduation, I didn’t want Maya to wear the usual white gowns that look like a first communion attire. I wanted something fashionable. I’m lucky that my little client loved my design. This is one of my favorites. I’d like to do another one for Maya to wear in her gradeschool graduation. 🙂

I didn’t want Maya to wear any readymade Halloween costume back then.
I did this a day before. It was a few weeks after Ondoy and since the flood forced us to move out of our house, I was not able to carry any sewing machine. Needless to say, this was done by hand.

Maya’s role for their Christmas program in UP PAUW was a rich girl. I made this gown for her. I loved how it turned out. So unique and elegant.

Maya was to attend a costume party and I didn’t want her to wear the usual princess outfit. This won her the best in costume prize.

more of the gypsy costume. She was just so small back then and a little gypsy was just so cute. 🙂

Maya wore a pixie costume to her friend Mavee’s 7th birthday. Photo courtesy of Mavee’s dad. I needed to make her a costume to match the purple wings we got from a specialty store.

more of the pixie piece. I loved the asymmetric skirt and shiny top.

And because a Tangled party was required this year, I made my little client a Rapunzel dress. This gown proved to be the hardest to do so far.

Maya is into blue-green these days. And because she no longer fit in any of her gowns (all six of them unused), I made her a new one. It’s lovely. She looks so nice in turquoise and mint.

I’ll upload photos of the other pieces soon as I’m able to locate them. Doing things for your little angel can be so much fun when you find a way to mix parenting and your passion. Maya has turned out to be a little fashionista since I started making clothes for her and I’m loving every moment of it. 🙂

